ASME Makes Changes to National Magazine Awards

Glamour.jpgYesterday the American Society of Magazine Editors (ASME) announced that it will be introducing a few changes that will impact the awards ceremony for print entries and several major awards categories in the 2011 National Magazine Awards, known as the “Ellies.”

After five years of presenting the print awards at a theater, ASME has decided to hold the next National Magazine Awards ceremony as a dinner on May 9, 2011. Meanwhile the National Magazine Awards for Digital Media will continue to be presented at a luncheon ceremony in conjunction with the MPA Digital conference on March 16, 2011 at the Hilton New York.

More importantly, ASME has also modified several of its awards categories, including those for General Excellence. Beginning with the 2011 National Magazine Awards, the General Excellence categories will be based on content, audience, frequency and circulation, a departure from preceding years’ awards presented in six categories based on circulation size.

ASME chief executive Sid Holt explains the changes:

making these changes in the National Magazine Awards to make the awards
more representative of magazine and magazine publishing. We want the
awards to look at magazines the same way readers and advertisers do. And
editors are a pretty competitive bunch–they want to go head to head
with their competitors at the awards the same way they do on

The new General Excellence, Print, categories are as follows:

News, Sports and Entertainment Magazines     
Honors large-circulation weeklies, biweeklies and general-interest monthlies
Fashion, Service and Lifestyle Magazines
Honors women’s magazines, including health and fitness magazines and family-centric publications

Active Lifestyle Magazines
Honors active sports, men’s lifestyle and business, finance and technology magazines

Food, Travel and Design Magazines
Honors dual-audience lifestyle publications, including shelter magazines
Special Interest Magazines
Honors magazines serving targeted audiences, including city and regional magazines

Literary Journals and Opinion Magazines
Honors scholarly and professional publications as well as literary and political magazines

awards will also now describe Photojournalism as News Photography, and
Photo Portfolio as Feature Photography in an effort to broaden the types
of work eligible for these distinctions.

The General Excellence,
Digital Media, award will now be being split into two categories:
General Excellence, Digital Media: News and Opinion and General
Excellence, Digital Media: Service and Lifestyle.

This entry was posted in Magazine News on by .
Michelle Ryan

About Michelle Ryan

Michelle Ryan is obsessed with good food, great shoes and Alabama football way down South in Savannah, Georgia. She hasn’t met a kitchen gadget she hasn’t at least thought about buying (trying them is another story) and devotes her time to Bikram Yoga, baking and trying to overcome long-held finicky eating habits.